The Fish Finger Butty

The fish finger sandwich is a British classic! Or so I’ve been told up until this point, since I had never before tried one for myself. You may wonder if I’ve been living under a rock but in fact it was my childhood dislike for fish fingers that stopped me before. Simply, I thought they were a downgrade from chicken nuggets.

Much like for most people when wine and coffee stop tasting like tar and more like nectar of the gods, fish fingers, for me, marked one of those moments of confirmation that I’ve very much hit adulthood.

Perhaps you’ve always been on the fish finger sandwich hype and if so,  good for you. But I’ve got some major lost time to make up for, so excuse me while I go fill up my freezer.

Ingredients: Makes 1
2 slices of thick white bread
4 fish fingers
Iceberg lettuce

Tartar sauce:
2 tbsp mayonnaise
5 mini gherkins, finely chopped
1 tbsp capers
1 tbsp parsley
1/2 lemon

Method:
1. Grill the fish fingers under a medium heat, 4-5 mins on each side.
2. In the meantime, prepare the tartar sauce by mixing all ingredients together in a small bowl and season with salt and pepper.
3. Spread the sauce over one slice of bread and top with a few leaves of lettuce and the fish fingers. Top with the other slice of bread and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

