The Cuban

This is a sandwich that puts high street toasties to shame. The taste caught me completely off guard and taught me not to underestimate what a few well thought out extra ingredients can do to a dish. Pickled gherkin and American mustard add an exotic sweetness to toasty essentials; ham and oozing cheese. I can safely say I am now hankering for my next Cuban (sandwich not man).

I saw this sandwich in the movie Chef where it is sold out of a food van to the masses. Also, reading up on the sandwich I learnt that it was originally enjoyed among Cuban workers on their lunch break. In tune with the Cuban culture, I now associate this sandwich with vibrancy; in particular with the buzz of people trying to satisfy their, and now my, toasty craving.

Ingredients: (Makes 1)
1 panini
4 slices of ham
4 slices of swiss cheese
3 gherkin slices
American mustard
Butter

Method:
1. Slice the panini in half lengthways and spread the outsides with butter and the inside with a thin layer of mustard.
2. Layer the ham, cheese and gherkin into the panini.
3. Dry fry the panini in a hot pan, 3-4 minutes each side and pressing down firmly with a spatula until the cheese has melted and the outsides of the panini are brown.

 

Leave a Reply

