The French Dip

My discovery of this sandwich is exactly why I am on this sandwich expedition. Beside the fact I have granted myself an excuse to gorge on all the bread and all the toppings (I’d like to thank me for being a genius), I am able to make my own cultural revelations right from my London flat. It’s a little like that exciting feeling when on holiday of being able to try the local specialities and finding flavours completely foreign to you. I say this all because I have never even heard of the french dip! I feel like I’ve been walking around all this time, blind to what the world has to offer me – a fool!

The french dip is simple to make and totally satisfying and like a biscuit dunked in tea, is made even better when soaking up hot beefy jus.

Ingredients
1 brioche bun (or preferably a hoagie roll if you can find one)
2 slices of swiss cheese
2 slices of roast beef (preferably freshly cut by a deli)
1 can of beef consomme (available in the soup aisle of the supermarket)

Method

  1. Heat the beef consomme in a pan over a medium heat until just before the point of boiling. In the meantime heat the oven to 180°c.
  2. Warm the slices of beef by adding them to the beef consomme for 3 minutes.
  3. Slice the bun in half lengthways, adding the beef slices and then the cheese slices on top.
  4. Put the open bun in the oven for 5 minutes or until the cheese has melted.
  5. Serve the beef consomme in a small bowl along side your sandwich.

 

One thought on “The French Dip

Leave a Reply

