Butternut Squash Black Bean Wrap

Anyone that knows me knows I love sandwiches. So much that I personalise all my clothes to say so.

I love sandwiches
No not really. My housemate kindly bought me that for secret Santa but I’m not joking when I say I do love them and so anything mildly resembling for dinner … yes not just lunch, but dinner too (dreams can come true) … is something I want to know about.

These wraps are healthy, delicious and really filled me up. I got my inspiration from here but the pesto in the recipe below I feel adds a little summin summin!

IMG_20150301_203955

Ingredients: (approx £1.50 pp)

Note – pricing is based on whole items

¼ butternut squash, cubed – £1.20

80g quinoa – £1.80

150g black beans (drained) – 75p

Feta – 70p

1 tsp pesto – 99p

Handful of kale – £1.50

Wholemeal tortilla wraps – £1

2

Method:

  1. Steam the butternut squash for 10 – 15 mins and at the same cook the quinoa in a pan of boiling water as instructed on the packet. I always add more water than it says as it evaporates so quickly. Steam the kale along with the butternut squash for the last 5 mins.
  2. Heat the black beans in the microwave for 2 minutes, giving them a stir half way through.
  3. Mix together the steamed butternut squash, kale, cooked quinoa in a bowl. Spread the wrap with the pesto and pile the filling down the middle.
  4. Crumble the feta over the top and fold the wrap.

1

Leave a Reply

